Frequent question: What was the district administration of Maurya period called?

What was the district administration called during the Maurya period?

The pradeshika was the head of district administration. He used to tour the entire district every five years to inspect the administration of areas under his control.

What was the system of Mauryan administration?

The Mauryan Empire had an efficient and centralised administrative system. … Mauryan administration was highly centralized. The Emperor was the supreme power and source of all authority. He was assisted by a Council of Ministers.

Who administered villages in the Mauryan era?

The three major officials of the provinces were thepradesika, the rajuka and the yukta. The pradesika was in charge of the overall administration of a district – supervising the collection of revenue and of maintaining law and order both in the rural areas and in the towns within his district.

Who were the main officials in the Mauryan administration?

Municipal Administration: Important officials: Nagaraka: incharge of city administration, Sita- Adhyaksha: Supervisor of agriculture, samastha-Adhyaksha: superintendent of market, Navadhyaksha: Superintendent of ships, Sulkaadhyaksha: Collector of tolls, Lohadhyaksha: Superintendent of Iron, Akaradhyaksha: …

READ  What is BIOS recovery?

Is Gupta and Maurya dynasty same?

Difference in time: Mauryan empire existed during 325 – 1285 BCE whereas Gupta dynasty existed between 320 and 550 CE. … Chandragupta, the founder of the empire was a follower of Jainism. Most of his successors embraced Buddhism, and Ashoka is historically famous for his unquestioned faith in Buddhism.

What is the smallest unit in the Mauryan empire?


What were the main features of Mauryan administration?

▶The main features of Mauryan administration were : There were five important political centres in the Mauryan Empire: Patliputra { the capital city } and the provincial centres of Taxila, Ujjayini, Tosali and suvranagiri Communications along the land and riverine routes were developed to administration the Empire.

Who was Nagaraka?

place in Indian history

…was the city superintendent (nagaraka), who had virtual control over all aspects of city administration. Centralization of the government should not be taken to imply a uniform level of development throughout the empire.

What if Mauryan Empire never fell?

Still for your question, the culture would have changed altogether, buddhism and Vedic religion and Jainism would have influenced each other, the religion in dominance would be the one adopted by the ruler, Art and trade would have florished but military would have come to a considerable standstill.

Are Maurya Kshatriya?

The caste of Mauryas belongs to Kshatriya varna of Hinduism and is largely an agricultural community. Mauryas are believed to be settled mostly in north Indian states of Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh. Among the other Kshatriya castes Mauryas are allied with are- Kashi, Shakya, Bhagirathi and Sagarvanshi.

READ  What was the first Mac operating system?

Why did Mauryan empire decline?

The decline of the Maurya Dynasty was rather rapid after the death of Ashoka/Asoka. One obvious reason for it was the succession of weak kings. Another immediate cause was the partition of the Empire into two. … Mauryan Empire began to decline after the death of Ashoka in 232 BC.

Who was Samaharta in Mauryan period?

Officers of the Mauryan Empire

Name Function
Purohita Chief Priest
Senapati Commander-in-chief
Yuvaraj Crown Prince
Samaharta Revenue collector

Who were Pativedakas?

Pativedaka is the word originated from sanskrit origin. Pativedaka means a reporter or a columnist. Answer: A word from Sanskrit origin, PATIVEDAKA means a reporter or a columnist.

Who was the supreme head of the Mauryan administration?

In the Mauryan administrative structure, the king was the supreme head and all basic policy matters were to be decided by the king alone.

How many sections of administration were there in the Mauryan empire?

Administration. The Mauryan Empire was divided into four provinces, with the imperial capital at Pataliputra, near the Ganges River in the modern state of Bihar in India.

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
OS Today